Buhari Sacks Kachikwu as GMD, Appoints New Directors For NNPC

President Buhari has unveiled the composition of the new board of directors of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC). Similarly, the President has sacked Ibe Kachikwu as group managing director and replaced him with Dr Maikanti Baru.

Presidential media adviser, Femi Adesina, in a statement made available to journalists, has announced that President Muhammadu Buhari approved new board of directors of the NNPC. “The composition of the board of the NNPC was confirmed under Section 1(2) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Act of 1997, as amended. The new board includes:
(A) Chairman – Dr Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum;
(B) Group Managing Director – Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru;
(C) The Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance; and
(D) The following six persons:

  1. Mallam Abba Kyari;
  2. Thomas M.A. John;
  3. Pius O. Akinyelure;
  4. Tajuddeen Umar;
  5. Mallam Mohammed Lawal;
  6. Mallam Yusuf Lawal.

The president advised the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC, and serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset.”


Leave a Reply